

Scientific Division (SD)

Chair Prof. Philippe GILLERY

Service de Biochimie - Pharmacologie -Toxicologie Pôle de Biologie Médicale et Pathologie CHU de Reims Pôle de Biologie Territoriale 51092 Reims Cedex - FRANCE E-mail: pgillery@chu-reims.fr

Vice-Chair Prof. Christa M. COBBAERT Clinical Chemist Head of the Department of Clinical Chemi Leiden University Medical Center

Head of the Department of Clinical Chemistry Leiden University Medical Center 2300 RC Leiden – THE NETHERLANDS E-mail: <u>C.M.Cobbaert@lumc.nl</u>

Secretary To be nominated

Members

Dr. Barnali DAS Consultant, Biochemistry & Immunology Division, Kokilaben Dhirubhai Ambani Hospital & Medical Research Institute, Mumbai-400053 - INDIA E-mail: barnali.das @relianceada.com

Dr. Konstantinos MAKRIS

Clinical Biochemist Clinical Biochemistry Department KAT General Hospital Kifissia, Athens - GREECE E-mail: <u>kostas.makris.km@gmail.com</u>

Prof. Mario PLEBANI

Full Professor of Clinical Biochemistry and Clinical Molecular Biology Chief Department of Laboratory Medicine University Hospital – Padova Dean of the Medical School University of Padova – ITALY E-mail: mario.plebani@unipd.it

Corporate Representative

Dr. Michael ROTTMANN Roche Diagnostics GmbH Director Assay Development Indication: Tyroid, Sepsis, RA, Growth Centralised and Point of Care solutions 82377 Penzberg - Germany e-mail: michael.rottmann@roche.com

European Commission – JRC Observer

Dr. Heinz SCHIMMEL Project Officer Directorate General Joint Research Centre Reference Materials Unit 2440 Geel – BELGIUM E-mail: heinz.schimmel@ec.europa.eu

ICHCLR Observer Dr. Greg MILLER

Professor of Pathology Co-Director of Clinical Chemistry Director of Pathology Information Systems Virginia Commonwealth University Health System Richmond, VA 23298-0286 - USA Email: <u>area.miller@vcuhealth.org</u>

JCTLM Consultant Prof. Ian S.YOUNG Professor of Medicine Queen's University Belfast Email: <u>I.Young@gub.ac.uk</u>

NIBSC Consultant

Dr. Chris BURNS PhD Head, Biotherapeutics Division National Institute for Biological Standards and Control - A Centre of the MHRA Hertfordshire, EN6 3QG, UK E-mail: Chris.Burns@nibsc.org

NIFDC Observer

Dr. Yang Zhen Deputy Director General National Institutes for Food and Drug Controls (NIFDC) - P.R. CHINA E-mail: yangzhen@nifdc.org.cn

NIST Consultant Dr. Karen W. PHINNEY Leader, Bioanalytical Science Group Biomolecular Measurement Division National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Gaithersburg, MD 2089-8314 - USA E-mail: karen.phinney@nist.gov From: Prof. Philippe Gillery – IFCC SD Chair

Date January 19th, 2021

Ref: 8.2.11 Call for Nominations for Membership of Committee on Molecular Diagnostics (C-MD)

To: IFCC Full Member Societies' National Representatives IFCC Affiliate Societies' Representatives IFCC Corporate Members' Representatives

Dear Colleagues,

Within the Committee on Molecular Diagnostics (C-MD), under the chairmanship of Prof. Dr. Parviz Ahmad-Nejad, one member position will be vacant for the term in office starting March 2021. C-MD is composed of 5 full members including the Chair nominated by the IFCC Member Societies. With this letter we are asking for nomination for this position.

Terms of Reference

- To foster dynamic exchanges between IFCC and molecular diagnostic laboratories and industry
- To produce guidelines on clinical validation of tests, conduct and reporting of molecular diagnostic tests
- Creation of a network of locus-specific IFCC Molecular Diagnostics Centres
- Updating the C-MD web page within the IFCC web site

Current Projects

- Establish an International Network of IFCC Reference Centres in Molecular Diagnostics
- Provide data on the current state of molecular diagnostics, with a particular focus on low-income countries, and to provide information to promote quality improvement
- Develop a checklist for technology transfer from development to clinical laboratory testing
- · Standardise formats for reporting of molecular diagnostic results
- Facilitate integration of pharmacogenetic testing into routine diagnostics at the appropriate quality standards

Nominations, *giving preference to young candidates (≤ 40 years of age)* should be directly sent to the IFCC Office (<u>paola.bramati@ifcc.org</u>) using the attached Application Form **before February 28th, 2021**.

Following approval, the candidates will be appointed for a three-year term on the Committee. A second three-year term is allowed following satisfactory review at the end of the first term by the Scientific Division Executive Committee following consultation with the C-MD Chairman.

Looking forward to receiving your nomination, I remain

Sincerely yours

Prof. Philippe Gillery

Chair Scientific Division IFCC